hit counter

Distinguished Service Award (2016)


[R to L: ACFR President Judith Hill, Richard Lugar, and ACFR Past President Richard Slaughter]

Richard Lugar and Sam Nunn

Recipients of the American Committees on Foreign Relations 2016 Distinguished Service Award for the Advancement of Public Discourse on Foreign Policy are former Senators Richard Lugar (R-IN) and Sam Nunn (D-GA) in honor of their role in the creation of the Cooperative Threat Reduction (CTR) Program, founded in 1991 following the adoption of their Nunn-Lugar Act. The CTR Program continues to dismantle weapons of mass destruction and ensure the safety of the areas which they are found. This mission started in Russia and the former Soviet Union, and the U.S. Department of State continues activities in support of nonproliferation around the world.

Both recipients have continued their work in foreign policy since leaving Congress. Sam Nunn is a founding member and CEO of the Nuclear Threat Initiative (NTI), an organization dedicated to providing expert information to governments and people around the world in order to raise awareness about WMDs and prevent disasters from occurring. He is also a distinguished professor at The Sam Nunn School International Affairs at Georgia Tech and chairman of the board at the Center for Strategic and International Studes (CSIS), where the 21st Annual ACFR Conference was held. Richard Lugar serves on the board of directors for the NTI and is also the founder, president, and chairman of the board at The Lugar Center. The Lugar Center not only continues the mission of nonproliferation of WMDs, but also has projects dedicated to promoting Trans-Atlantic energy security and economic cooperation, global food security, and effective foreign aid. In addition, the Lugar Center has proposed an Executive-Legislative Initiatives Summit (ELIS) and worked together with Georgetown University in the creation of the Bipartisan Index both as part of an effort to strengthen relationships and agree on legislative frameworks between parties and branches of government.