hit counter

Distinguished Service Award

Distinguished Service Award


The American Committees on Foreign Relations established its Distinguished Service Award for the Advancement of Public Discourse on Foreign Policy in 2006 to honor outstanding public figures who engage American civic leaders in discourse on foreign relations and to recognize the contributions of concerned citizens who are international actors in their own significant ways.

For more about the 2017 Distinguished Service Award honoree, Ambassador Walter L. Cutler (pictured above), please click here.

Past Distinguished Service Award Honorees

2016 Award Recipients
•     Former United States Senator Richard Lugar (R-IN)
•     Former United States Senator Sam Nunn (D-GA)

2015 Award Recipient
Ambassador Paula Dobriansky

2014 Award Recipient
Ambassador John D. Negroponte

2012 Award Recipient
Ambassador Husain Haqqani

2011 Award Recipient
Ambassador Ryan C. Crocker

2010 Award Recipient
Hon. Richard N. Haass

2009 Award Recipient
Jim Lehrer

2007 Award Recipient
General James L. Jones, USMC (Ret.)

2006 Award Recipients
•     Ambassador Robert Oakley
•     Ambassador Donald P. Gregg